Previous Page  16 / 162 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 16 / 162 Next Page
Page Background

Board Members

Kerry Prendergast, Chair

Following a four-year term, Kerry

Prendergast was re-appointed as Chair

of the New Zealand Tourism Board on 15

August 2014 for a one-year term. She is the

former Mayor of Wellington and former

Vice-President of Local Government New

Zealand. She holds an MBA from Victoria

University where she is also a Distinguished

Alumni. She received a CNZM in 2011 for

services to local Government.

Kerry is currently Chair of the Environmental

Protection Authority, the New Zealand

Festival and the Wellington Jazz Music

Festival Trust.

Richard Leggat, Deputy


Richard has a varied background across

business, marketing and e-commerce.

He is now a full-time director.

Richard is the Chairman of NZ Cycle Trail

Inc, the entity charged with ensuring

the success and sustainability of the

Government’s national cycle trail initiative.

He is also on the boards of Cycling NZ, Snow

Sports New Zealand, New Zealand Post and

Education New Zealand and is chairman of

Waterfront Auckland.

Richard, who was first appointed to the

New Zealand Tourism Board on 1 February

2010, was reappointed for a second term

that expires in February 2016 and appointed

Deputy Chair in December 2013.

Jenn Bestwick

Jenn Bestwick’s professional career has

been largely in strategy and business

development having worked extensively

in both the public and private sectors.

Jenn has recently been working with

local authorities, Iwi and the primary and

hydro-generation sectors on fresh water

management in the Canterbury region.

Jenn is the current Chair of Christchurch

Polytechnic Institute of Technology

and board member of New Zealand

Qualifications Authority, Southern Response

Earthquake Services Limited.

Jenn was appointed to the New Zealand

Tourism Board on 7 August 2012 for a three-

year term.

Mike O’Donnell

Mike “MOD” O’Donnell is Executive Director

of G2G Knowhow.

He is also a director of online global music

company Serato, software company Raygun,

and online booking company Timely. MOD

is a weekly business columnist for Fairfax

Media. He was previously the chairman

of Positively Wellington Tourism and has

managed several online travel businesses.

MOD was appointed to the New Zealand

Tourism Board on 15 October 2013 for a

three-year term.

Chris Parkin

Wellington businessman and patron of

the arts, Chris Parkin, is the owner of New

Zealand’s only boutique art hotel, Museum

Art Hotel in Wellington. Formerly an

investment banker, Chris was a Wellington

City Councillor for nine years before retiring

in 2004.

Chris is Chairman of Wellington Venues Ltd

and Chairman of Te Whaia Services. In the

2011 Queen’s Birthday honours list he was

awarded a Companion of the New Zealand

Order of Merit for services to the arts and


Chris was appointed to the New Zealand

Tourism Board in December 2013, with his

three-year term commencing in April 2014.

Jacqui Spice

Jacqui Spice is the founder and CEO of

Touch of Spice, Curators of New Zealand’s

Finest Experiences – a luxury travel and

destination management company. Jacqui

has over two decades of experience working

in the luxury market, both in New Zealand

and offshore catering to the most discerning

clients in the world. The Touch of Spice

head office is located in Queenstown and

the team curates experiences, events

and itineraries throughout New Zealand.

They have amassed an extensive network

of suppliers, products, transport and

accommodation providers and customised

a number of supremely unique experiences.

Jacqui was appointed to the New Zealand

Tourism Board on 17 December 2013, with

her three-year term commencing on 27

January 2014.

Norm Thompson (ONZOM)


Norm Thompson had a long career at Air

New Zealand and held the role of Deputy

CEO prior to his retirement at the end of


He is the current Deputy Chair of ATEED

(Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic

Development), director of Dot Kiwi Ltd,

Queenstown Airport Corporation and

Preno Limited, as well a trustee of the

Young Enterprise Trust Board. Norm is also

a Committee Member of the 2016 New

Zealand Golf Open.

Norm was appointed to the New Zealand

Tourism Board in December 2013, with his

three-year term commencing in April 2014.

John Thorburn

John is Chief Executive of InterCity Group

and was previously the Chief Executive

of Ngai Tahu Tourism. He has held

senior positions in a range of industries,

including manufacturing, marketing and

telecommunications. John has also held

recent board positions with the New

Zealand Tourism Industry Association and

the New Zealand Conservation Authority.

John was appointed to the New Zealand

Tourism Board on 7 August 2012 for a three-

year term.

Jamie Tuuta

Jamie is currently the Māori Trustee

and CEO of Te Tumu Paeroa. He is Ngāti

Mutunga, Ngati Tama, Ngati Maru, Te Ati

Awa and Taranaki iwi.

He has held a range of governance

positions in the health, iwi development,

fishing, agribusiness, education, Māori

development and investment sectors. He

is currently a director of Aotearoa Fisheries

Ltd, Te Ohu Kaimoana Trustee Ltd, Taranaki

Investment Management Ltd and Wools of

New Zealand. He is the former chairman

of both Te Runanga o Ngāti Mutunga

and Parininihi ki Waitotara Incorporation

– a Taranaki-based Māori agribusiness


Jamie was appointed to the New Zealand

Tourism Board in March 2013 for a three-

year term.