Previous Page  16 / 84 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 16 / 84 Next Page
Page Background

Board Members

Kerry Prendergast (CNZM), Chair

Kerry Prendergast has chaired Tourism New

Zealand since August 2011.

The former Mayor of Wellington (2001-

2010) and Vice-President of Local

Government New Zealand holds an MBA

from Victoria University of Wellington

(where she is a Distinguished Alumnus), and

was made a Companion of the New Zealand

Order of Merit in 2011 for her services to

local government.

In addition to her Tourism New Zealand

role, Kerry is also chair of the Environmental

Protection Authority and the New Zealand

Film Commission. She is deputy chair of

Richard Leggat, Deputy Chair

Richard Leggat has a varied background

across business, marketing, and

e-commerce and has been a full-time

director for the last five years. He

assumed the role of deputy chair of

Tourism New Zealand in December 2013.

A keen sportsman and recreational

cyclist, Richard chairs the board of

Nga Haerenga – The New Zealand

Cycle Trail Inc., the entity charged with

ensuring the success and sustainability

of the Government’s national cycle trail

Raewyn Idoine

The founder of New Zealand’s largest

private tourism education provider, the

New Zealand School of Tourism (formerly

the Sir George Seymour National College

of Tourism), Raewyn Idoine has been at

the forefront of many tourism and business

ventures around the country.

Raewyn has significant experience at a

senior level in the education, tourism and

health sectors, having been independent

chair of the Local Government Industry

Training Organisation, stakeholder

engagement manager for the Tertiary

Wellington Free Ambulance, a trustee for

New Zealand Community Trust, a director

for Oceania Healthcare, Compass Health,

and Wellington Phoenix Football Club and

board member for the Victoria University

Foundation. She also serves on the Board of

the New Zealand China Council.

She is also a patron and trustee of several

New Zealand community organisations

including SPCA, Skylight Trust, and Motu

Foundation, and is an ambassador for

Alzheimer’s New Zealand.

On 18 August 2015 Kerry was reappointed for

a second term ending on 17 August 2018.

initiative. He is also a director of Auckland

Council’s regeneration organisation, Panuku

Development Auckland, and sits on the

Boards of Snow Sports New Zealand, Cycling

NZ, New Zealand Post, and Education New


Richard was first appointed to the New

Zealand Tourism Board on 1 February 2010

and is currently in his third term (finishing

on 10 April 2018).

Education Commission and a board

member of Learning State (the state

sector industry training organisation).

Raewyn now chairs the Southern Health

and Disability Ethics Committee, and is a

member of the Christchurch City Council’s

subsidiary Transition Holdings Limited,

merging Canterbury Development

Corporation and Christchurch Tourism.

Raewyn was appointed to the Tourism

New Zealand board in August 2015 for a

three-year term.