Landmarks a great opportunity for Northland

The launch of the Northland pilot of Landmarks Whenua Tohungais an excellent opportunity for the region to attract tourists as well as develop a national network of historic places.

The new initiative, led by Manatū Taonga the Ministry for Culture and Heritage, will encourage tourists to visit our historically and culturally important places and learn more about what shaped our nation. The Northland pilot showcases nine sites, with the aim to steadily roll Landmarks out across the country.

The pilot was today launched at the historic Stone Store in Kerikeri, New Zealand’s oldest stone building.

Arts, Culture and Heritage Minister Maggie Barry said: “Landmarks will pick out our must-see places – connecting them together and creating a new opportunity for tourists to experience our culture and heritage.

“Landmarks will provide a boon to Northland’s economy by serving as a badge of quality, drawing visitors to sites of real historic and cultural significance and creating opportunities for business and regional development.”

Tourism New Zealand’s Corporate Affairs General Manager Deborah Gray said Landmarks will enhance the region’s ability to tell its unique stories and will provide an historical roadmap for visitors to travel on.

“This is a new approach to highlighting some key places in the North. Any new initiative that can help guide visitors in their discovery of a region is welcome. We look forward to a successful pilot leading to Landmarks being available for tourists as they travel across New Zealand,” said Ms Gray.

Landmarks Whenua Tohunga is a partnership between Manatū Taonga the Ministry for Culture and Heritage, the Department of Conservation Te Papa Atawhai, and Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga. Information will be available to tourists at the i-SITE network and at

The first Landmarks Whenua Tohunga

•             Clendon House

•             Kororipo Heritage Park

•             Māngungu Mission

•             Pompallier Mission and Printery

•             Cape Brett Rakaumangamanga

•             Rangihoua Heritage Park

•             Ruapekapeka Pā

•             Te Waimate Mission

•             Waitangi Treaty Grounds