Landmarks launch encourages visitors to explore Otago

Tourism New Zealand welcomes the launch of Landmarks Whenua Tohunga in Otago today, which recognises 12 of the region’s most important historic and cultural sites.

Led by the Ministry for Culture and Heritage, the initiative is designed to inspire locals and visitors – both domestic and international – to learn more about the places and stories that have shaped our nation.

The Landmarks-recognised sites are located across the region, encouraging people to travel to less-visited areas of Otago.

The Otago launch follows the Landmarks pilot launch in Northland in December 2016. 

Tourism New Zealand Chief Executive, Stephen England-Hall says the launch of Landmarks in Otago should be celebrated as a way for visitors to more deeply explore the region.

“The Landmarks initiative aligns with Tourism New Zealand’s priority of increasing the value of international visitors to our regions to help more communities benefit from tourism,” says Mr England-Hall.

“When more visitors come into our communities, they support the growth of local businesses like cafes and restaurants, retail outlets and activities. This leads to the development of more local services and activities and more options for New Zealanders.”

Landmarks is planned to be rolled out across other New Zealand regions over the coming years.

Landmarks Whenua Tohunga is a partnership between Manatū Taonga Ministry for Culture and Heritage, the Department of Conservation Te Papa Atawhai, and Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga. Information about Landmarks will be made available to tourists via the i-SITE Visitor Network and at

Otago region sites recognised by Landmarks are:

  • Arrowtown

  • Bannockburn Sluicings

  • Dunedin Railway Station

  • Hayes Engineering Works

  • Historic Oamaru

  • Kawarau Suspension Bridge

  • Larnach Castle

  • Olveston

  • Otago Central Rail Trail

  • Taieri Gorge Railway

  • Totara Estate

  • TSS Earnslaw